“A Valentine’s Day thought” What is Love to you?

What is Love????

Today is a day that love is shown in many ways to the ones we love the most. As we go about buying flowers, chocolates and a card just to say I Love you, it raises a question in mind What is Love to you??

Growing up love to me was romance, flowers, sweet words whispered in my ear by a handsome boy. As a  young adult I dreamed of being married to my prince charming who would sweep me off my feet and carry me off to my dream house. But when reality hit me smack in the face, it was a shock to me that my prince was not what I dreamed he would be. My prince was a flawed human as much as I was, we both had problems that we needed to work on to become a better mate. for each other.

Those flaws and mistakes in our marriage caused alot of hurt and pain in my life. There have been days I have cried my heart out just wanting to be loved and held by my hubby. Wanting my hubby to surprise me with something special, like flowers and chocolates, longing for some romance in my marriage. All the time I was thinking of myself, but not seeing that my hubby was struggling at the same time.

It was after seeing my dear hubby placed in an ambulance for a stroke that I realized I needed to take a deeper look at things. It wasn’t that I didn’t love my hubby,  I just wasn’t able to see what I had in front of me.  I needed to love my hubby like Christ loved us, sacrificing what I wanted in our marriage to show my hubby that he was the most precious thing in my life. No matter what happens in our health, he will be the one that was given to me by our Heavenly Father to love .

My dear hubby forgets about special things like getting a valentine’s gift for me, but love tells me to not hold a grudge and just love my hubby for what he does do for me. Like he tries his best to cook supper for me when I work late or goes looking for the best price on a item I am very interested in.

I have learned Love fights for healing in a broken marriage. It takes a stand for what is right and stands up for the innocent and does not care if they are noticed for what they do. It takes a chance  and can see what we can’t see, that there is hope out there for all of us. Love also wraps their arms around the unwanted and shows them that they are special too. Love is truly a sacrifice, giving up what you want to show the other person that they are very much precious to u.

One of my favorite songs right now is The Proof of your Love by For King and Country. It says  “If we don’t love we have not gotten anywhere.”

Love to me is seeing my husband smiling when I make him something he likes to eat. What is love to you???

Leave a Reply

