“Scary weekend”

This past weekend have been  very difficult for me, after waking up in the middle of the night to hear my dear hubby struggling to breathe. My training kicked in gear as I jumped out of bed and turned on the overhead lights. By then my dear hubby had ripped off his CPAP mask and was breathing on his own. As I evaluated the situation I realized things was not going back to normal, my dear hubby was having stroke symptoms that was getting worse as the minutes passed. This is not our first time dealing with this health problem, my hubby suffered his first stroke several years ago. We have been very blessed to have caught the symptoms and got him to the local hospital in time to reverse the symptoms.

This time around it was very scary for me, the local ambulance service was not available and at one point I thought I was going to have to do CPR on my hubby.  After the ambulance arrived and whisked my dear hubby away to the ER. A dear neighbor checked in on me, letting us know that she was there for us. It was after everything calmed down for me that I realized my decision to take some time for myself the evening before; was one of the best things I had done. Because I had went away for a few hours to visit my former coworkers with another coworker, I did not go to bed at my normal time. Because I am a heavy sleeper, it is very hard for my hubby at times to get me awake. That night I had just laid down and had barely fallen asleep when I was woken up  to hearing my dear hubby struggling to get air into his lungs.

The one thing every caregiver, husband and wife have in common is they stay strong thru so much going on in their lives. They sometimes have to put things aside to be there for the one they are carrying for. This is not easy for anyone who is a caregiver, their lives are centered around the one who they are taking care of. Having a support system is very much a must for a caregiver and their loved one.

I very much struggle with not having family nearby to support me in these times of illness. All of my family live farther away from me, with only my in laws living close by. Having a cell phone has been a wonderful thing in keeping in contact with some very special friends who stand up with me and keep me looking up.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

