Healing with a Pineapple Upside Down cake!!

Elise Bauer’s Pineapple Upside Down Cake RecipeMy childhood memories are a mixture of wonderful, good and some very harsh memories. One of those harsh memories has to do with a simple mistake in a recipe for pineapple upside down cake. To this day I do not know for sure what I did wrong, but it triggered  a very violent response from my mother. From that day on I did not ever want to try to make the cake for the harsh memory of having  a mixer thrown at me. Several years after I was married, my dear hubby told me that one of his favorite cakes was a pineapple upside down cake. It was at this time I realized I had to face a past memory and make a new memory out of something very harsh. I made the choice to attempt to make a pineapple upside down cake for the second time in my life. My second attempt actually turned out  better than I thought it would.

There are times we have to do something in our lives that carries a very harsh memory, it may be forgiving someone for something they did to us or even just making a cake that carries a bad memory for us. It is a chance for us to make new memories to replace old ones in our lives. This is the time of year of celebrations and giving of gifts, also it is the time to make memories with those we hold precious to our hearts.

Leave a Reply

